Jailed protestors transferred to more remote prisons

Sep 27, 2008 (DVB), Political prisoners who were jailed for their involvement in last year's Saffron Revolution have been transferred to prisons far away from their families in recent days.

Bogalay NLD chairman U Aung Khin Bo and township NLD members U Maung Muang Chit, Daw Mi Mi San, Daw Khin Lay, U Thet Tun and U Thein Tun were sent to Insein prison, and then transferred on to Myingyan and Pakokku jails in upper Burma.

Ko Aung Moe Win, Ko Htay Win, Ko Kyi Win from Laputta, Ko Saw Win from Henzada and U Aye Win from Bassein are also due to be transferred soon, according to their family members.

Reporting by Htet Aung Kyaw

Leave a reply