Monday, March 4, 2024
HomeUncategorizedAt least 11 NLD members arrested in Rangoon

At least 11 NLD members arrested in Rangoon

May 22, 2008 (DVB), Police officers from the Ministry of Interior and local authorities arrested more than 10 National League for Democracy members in Rangoon early this morning.

NLD spokesperson U Nyan Win told DVB that as many as 13 NLD members may have been arrested but the party was only able to collect 11 names.

Those confirmed to have been detained are Ko Htun Zaw (NLD youth leader, Upper Burma), Ko Khin Htun (NLD youth leader, Lower Burma), U Thet Wai (NLD chairperson, San Chaung), Ko Kyaw Kyaw Moe and Ko Aung Thein from Kyi Myin Dai, Daw Shan Ma and Ma Htet Htet Oo Wai from Shwe Pyi Thar, Ma Win Pa Pa from Northern Dagon, and Ma Ohnmar, Ma Cho and Ko Aye Lwin from Southern Dagon.

Some of the detainees have been actively working on relief operations for cyclone victims.

The reason for the arrests is still unknown but Nyan Win said they could be linked to the constitutional referendum scheduled for 24 May.

"I think the arrests may be related to the 24 May referendum," he said.

"The NLD has been illegally repressed by the military regime for long time. What happened today is the latest in a long line of similar incidents."

Reporting by Naw Say Phaw


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?