Friday, December 1, 2023
Home2015 ElectionsElection 2015: Record number of Kachin parties

Election 2015: Record number of Kachin parties

Twelve candidates will contest the Pyithu Hluttaw [House of Representatives] seat of Myitkyina, Kachin State, with the majority of contenders coming from local parties.

That’s according to Brang Li, a Kachin State Democracy Party candidate.

“Only two or three parties contested in 2010, including the White Tiger Party and the National Democratic Force which come from the lower part of Burma. Now, there are many local parties here,” he said.

Despite the election period underway in Myitkyina, the Kachin State capital, Brang Li said there have been no political events to date.


Local resident U Cho said most people know which party they will vote for, despite the increased options this election year, and that the 2010 USDP victory in his constituency was due to electoral fraud. Opposition party the National League for Democracy famously boycotted the 2010 elections.

“From my view there are only two parties. The ruling party [USDP] and the civilian party [National League for Democracy] led by Daw Aung San Suu Kyi. It is as clear as an elephant crossing the paddy fields… the people have been waiting quietly for 50 years. You will see at the election,” he said.

In the Kachin townships of Myitkyina, Tanaing, Waingmaw, Chibwe and Bamaw, between 8 – 12 parties are fielding candidates in the 8 November polls.

Read more on the 2015 election here. 


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?