Monday, December 11, 2023
HomeLead StoryElection commission lineup named

Election commission lineup named

Burma’s president-elect Htin Kyaw submitted the names of five nominees to head the country’s Union Election Commission (UEC) to parliament on Friday.

At the top of the list was Hla Thein, a geologist and retired rector of Meikhtila University in Mandalay Division who has been picked to serve as the commission’s chairman.

The four other proposed members were identified as Aung Myint, Soe Reh, Tun Khin and Hla Tint. Biographical details are expected to be submitted to parliament ahead of their formal approval.

MPs were instructed by upper house speaker Mahn Win Khine Thein to register for a parliamentary debate no later than 4 pm on 26 March if they plan to raise any objections.

Hla Thein previously served as the chair of the Meiktila District Election Commission during elections in 2010, 2012 and 2015.

The 68-year-old told DVB he didn’t know why the National League for Democracy, which will take power on 1 April, selected him to head the national-level election commission, but he assumed they had a good reason.


“They probably checked my background–my role as a civil servant and a rector, and my reputation and credibility. I don’t think they would have given this role to a random person,” he said.

Asked how he felt about his new job, he said: “I just want to say one thing, and I want you to take it seriously: I will ensure that the election results in the future reflect the true will of the people.”


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?