Sunday, December 10, 2023
HomeLead StoryLeaders of two new ministries and revamped anti-graft body sworn in

Leaders of two new ministries and revamped anti-graft body sworn in

Two ministers to newly created Union-level ministries, and a new chairperson and commissioners for a revamped configuration of Burma’s anti-graft body were sworn in at a Union Parliament session on Friday.

One day after the national legislature approved the creation of the Ministry of the Office of the Union Government and the Ministry of International Cooperation, Thaung Tun and Kyaw Tin took oaths to head the respective ministries. Thaung Tun is Burma’s current national security adviser.

Aung Kyi, a former information minister under the previous government, will be the Anti-Corruption Commission’s new chairman. The 12-member commission — reduced from 15 members previously — is made up of four appointees from the president, and four each from the speakers of Parliament’s two chambers.


The former chief of the national police force, Major-General Zaw Win, is among the new anti-graft commissioners. The new chair Aung Kyi was once a top official under the country’s former military junta, holding the rank of major-general, and he was later appointed to multiple cabinet postings including as former President Thein Sein’s information minister from 2012-14.

The Union Parliament yesterday gave its nod of approval to the nominees for the ministerial posts and the anti-graft body. The President’s Office issued an order dated 23 November to propose the appointment of the two ministers for the newly formed Union-level ministries and the 12 members of the slimmed-down Anti-Corruption Commission.


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?