Tuesday, March 5, 2024
HomeUncategorizedRangoon court moved to new premises

Rangoon court moved to new premises

Jan 14, 2008 (DVB), Staff at the Rangoon divisional court are unhappy about an order they have received requiring them to move to a new building as of 18 January.

Rangoon divisional court is currently located on Bank street in Kyauktada township, but a judge at the court said a formal written order has been issued instructing them to move to the former health department building on the junction of Thein Phyu and Bogyoke Aung San roads in Botahtaung township.

The health department building has been taken over by the department of human settlement and housing since the health department was moved to Naypyidaw.

The Port Area court and five other township courts for Botahtaung, Pabedan, Kyauktada, Latha and Lanmadaw townships are also housed in the current building and have been asked to move to the same new premises.

Lawyers from the divisional court have complained that the new building is only about a third of the size of their current premises and is not large enough for the divisional and township courts.

The court also shares its current premises with the Rangoon divisional Peace and Development Council offices, headed by divisional chief Hla Htay Win, which will not be moved.

The current five-storey court building was built under British rule as the British police commissioner's office and has since been recognised by the government as a heritage site.

Reporting by DVB


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?