Sunday, December 10, 2023
HomeEducation11 Letpadan activists granted bail

11 Letpadan activists granted bail

Tharawaddy district court on Tuesday granted bail to eleven activists arrested for participating in a student protest three months ago.

Defence lawyer Hla Myo Myint said the eleven defendants – Than Swe, Waiyan Min Lwin, Ye Win Aung, [another] Ye Win Aung (a.k.a. Shwekyal Moe), Min Chit Thu, Min Thu Shein, Myat Min Maw, Kyaw Zaw Khant, Ko Tin Oo, Thet Tun Paing and Ma Than Aye – were granted bail in absentia.


He said the group remain incarcerated in Tharawaddy prison, Pegu Division, but are set for release at the next court hearing on 14 July.

“At a court hearing last week, both prosecution and defence lawyers gave arguments concerning 17 bail applications,” said the lawyer. “Today the court granted bail for 11 of them. They will be released on 14 July when the next court hearing is scheduled.”

The other six dissidents were rejected bail for “lack of data,” said Hla Myo Myint.

Around 70 students and civilian activists were detained in Tharawaddy prison and face charges including sedition and rioting after a brutal police crackdown on a sit-in protest in Letpadan on 10 March.


For an interactive chronology of the Burmese student protest movement, click HERE



Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?