Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeUncategorizedAnother 14 Burmese activists imprisoned

Another 14 Burmese activists imprisoned

Nov 14, 2008 (DVB)-Burma’s military junta has put at least 14 more members of the National League for Democracy behind bars today, according to the party sources.

Rangoon Dawbon township NLD youth leader Ko Kyaw Zin Win, deputy Ko Kyaw Kyaw Lin, Ma Kyi Kyi Wa, Ko Nay Tha Myo Win, and Ko Aung Zaw Oo were handed down sentences which ranged from five to 16 years by Kyauktada township tourt presided over by Judge Daw Nyunt Nyunt Win.

The five NLD youths were detained in connection with last year’s Saffron Revolution Movement by monks.

Hlaing township NLD members Ko Than Zaw Myint, Ko Hlaing Min, and Daw Nge were sentenced from seven and a half to nine and a half years’ imprisonment by the Insein Prison’s special court.

Eleven NLD members, sentenced yesterday to seven and a half years imprisonment each in connection with the prayer campaign, three NLD members Ko Thant Zin Myo, Ko San Win, and Ko Kyaw Soe Win, were also given additional sentences today by the special court.

Ko Thant Zin Myo and Ko San Win will be serving 17 years each as nine and a half additional years were added to their earlier sentences. Ko Kyaw Soe Win received seven and a half more years today and his sentence is now 15 years.

U Tin Win and Ko Nyi Nyi Min from Dagon Myothit township who were arrested in connection protests against the state constitution were imprisoned two years each and U Tin Myint of Thaketa Township received two and a half years.

Ko Shwe Maung, Ko Wunna Maung, and Ko Zaw Min Lay from Mandalay, who are being held in Insein Prison in connection with the September Saffron Movement last year, were each sentenced to four years’ imprisonment.

Ma Ei Khaing Oo of Eco-Vision Journal was also given a two-year sentence.

Reporting by DVB


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?