Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeLead StoryGovt, rebel groups form ceasefire committee

Govt, rebel groups form ceasefire committee

Government and armed rebel group representatives have formed a committee to monitor the implementation of the ceasefire accord signed on 15 October.


The government’s Union Peace-making Work Committee announced on 19 November in Naypyidaw the formation of the Joint Ceasefire Monitoring Committee – comprised of 10 representatives each from the government and the eight armed group signatories, in addition to six civilian representatives.

The newly formed committee will be chaired by Lt-Gen Yar Pyae, while retired Brig-Gen Pyae Sone and Karen National Union’s Saw Issac Phoe will act as vice-chairpersons. Dr Sui Khar, from the Chin National Front, will serve as co-secretary, in addition to military representative Col. Wanna Aung.

Other members of the committee include: Min Zaw Oo, director of ceasefire negotiation and implementation at the Myanmar Peace Centre; Karen Development Network Co-founder Rev. Matthew Aye; and 88 Generation Peace and Open Society activist Ko Ko Gyi.

Salai Shwe Khar told DVB that the aim of the committee it to strengthen and uphold the ceasefire agreement.

“Previously, we’ve drawn up regulations and a military code of conduct regarding the ceasefire agreement, and the committee’s mandate is to ensure these regulations are followed by both sides,” he said.

Salai Shwe Khar added that the administrative regional and local-level joint ceasefire monitoring committees will also be formed soon – starting in Shan State in December.

Read more about the ceasefire agreement here.


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?