Thursday, November 30, 2023
HomeUncategorizedJunta announces new appointments

Junta announces new appointments

Oct 24, 2007 (DVB), The Burmese government has announced a number of ministerial appointments and promotions, according to reports on state television.

Lieutenant general Thein Sein has been officially appointed prime minister of Burma, following the death of the incumbent prime minister Soe Win. Thein Sein has been acting prime minister since April.

Thein Sein's previous position as secretary-1 has been given to lieutenant general Thiha Thura Tin Aung Myint Oo.

The appointments were announced in statements 3/2007 and 4/2007, which were signed by junta leader senior general Than Shwe.

General Aung Kyi, formerly the deputy labour minister, has now been promoted to minister of labour. Aung Kyi was also recently named minister for liaison between the military regime and detained opposition leader Daw Aung San Suu Kyi.

Executive order 5/2007 was issued by the new secretary-1, Thiha Thura Tin Aung Myint Oo, appointing three new deputy ministers.

General Thein Htay is to become deputy defence minister, general Kyaw Saw Khine will take the post of deputy minister of industry-2, and general Thein Htun will be deputy minister of communications, post and telegraph.

Reporting by DVB


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?