Sunday, February 25, 2024
HomeNewsLive election coverage

Live election coverage

12:00 pm

Aung San Suu Kyi gives election victory speech in Rangoon.  She calls the election  “a triumph of the people” adding she “hope[s] this will be the beginning of a new era.”

10:10 am

NLD spokesperson claims “landslide victory” of all 44 seats contested by the party.

“As far as we have heard from our sources, NLD candidates won in all 44 seats. I think the Election Commission will come up with official announcements soon,” NLD campaign manager Nyan Win told Reuters.


NLD claims Suu Kyi wins Kawhmu’s parliamentary seat.



According to the Myanmar Times, Union Election Commission’s chairman Tin Aye is in Kawhmu township to inspect two ballot stations there. He is refusing to take questions from journalists.


The NLD has sent an official letter to the Naypyidaw’s Union Election Commission chairman regarding ballot tampering.

The letter said a large number of ballot tickets nationwide had been sullied with wax and polling station officials rejected demands to exchange them with new ones.


NDF official Zaw Myint Oo in Rangoon’s Thongwa township said polls not free – claims local election commission’s secretary and administration authorities lingering inside voting rooms and using mobile phones.


Hla Myo Naing of 88 Generation Students’ monitoring network said irregularities with voting lists is the biggest issue nationwide concerning elections. He cited tampering with ballots as the second most pressing concern.


Aye Khine, NLD official in Mandalay division’s Kyaukpadaung township, said a brief protest organised by residents who were excluded from voting lists ended after NLD members held negotiations with protestors. Police are at the scene.


NLD’s youth coordinator Lin Maung Maung in Shan state’s Kalaw said Pa-O National League has secured 290 of 321 votes cast at the polling station in Namyok.

Shan Nationalities Democratic Party’s candidate Sai Win Khine in Shan state’s Hsenwi said about 200 people missing from voting lists.

NDF candidate Khin Phyu Phyu Nyeing says NLD members, wearing NLD t-shirts and badges, were campaigning at the entrance of ballot stations in Mayangon township, which is against the election law.

NLD official Min Kyi Oo in Sagain Division’s Kantbalu township said every eligible voter from Kyaythabyin village was excluded from voting lists.


Independent candidate Khin Hlaing, who is running in Rangoon’s Mayangon township says he is 90 percent sure he will win. The successful businessman is running against tough competition: NLD’s May Win Myint, USDP’s Ye Htut, NDF’s Khin Phyu Phyu Nyein, and hip hop star Yatha of the New National Democracy Party.

Independent candidate Myint Myint Aye in Mandalay’s Meikhtila township pelted with stone but not injured.

Kyaw Myint Lwin, NLD monitor for candidate Min Thu in Naypyidaw’s Uttrathiri  township, said of 199 votes cast at one station – 196 for the USDP while only one cast for the NLD and the National Unity Party. One vote was nullified.


USDP’s candidate Dr Myo Thant Tin, who is vying for a vacant parliamentary seat in Irrawaddy division’s Maubin township, said he is confident of winning the ‘impartial’ polls that are ‘peacefully’ taking place


NLD candidate Aung Myint Soe said large number of residents unable to vote in Pegu division’s Taungoo township – hundreds of angry residents reportedly gathering in front of a polling station in ward 2.


Democratic Party-Myanmar (DPM)’s chairman and candidate in Rangoon’s Mingalar Taungnyunt township said about half of the eligible voters in the constituency have already casted their ballots without any report of irregularities.


NLD’s election campaign coordinator Aye Thein in Rangoon division’s Kawhmu township, where Aung San Suu Kyi is contesting a seat, said he ‘no longer believes the elections are free and fair’.

Aye Thein says election officials have been tampering with ballot tickets with wax. The NLD official also says the party has been unable to verify voting lists in some constituencies, while some residents have been unable to vote. Still, Aye Thein says ‘[The NLD] will win for sure’.

NLD’s candidate Naingan Linn in Naypyidaw’s Dekkhinathiri township said despite various irregularities including tampering and missing names on votings lists, he expects victory at the polls.


Election monitor Khin Maung Myint said some residents in Mandalay division’s Tada-U township were denied the right to vote. He said authorities in Kyatpyin village said only 20 residents were eligible to vote.

Nyan Win said there are a large number of ballot tickets without official election committee stamps. Khin Maung Myint said local and regional election committees do not have enough time to stamp them all. If a ballot is missing the stamp then it’s technically void.

NLD’s election campaigner Zaw Naing in Irrawaddy division’s capital Bassein said about four ballot stations in the town failed to announce the early voting results before 6am.

NLD campaigner Ye Myint Thein said USDP members in front of polling station in Shan state township Aungban’s ward 3 are instructing voters to tick the checkbox of the party they want to vote for and also cross out the party they don’t like on the ballot. According to the election law, if a voter crosses something out on the ticket, then the ballot is nullified.


NLD’s Election Campaign Committee manager Nyan Win said tampering with checkboxes on ballots is a ‘crime’ under the election law and that his party is filing a complaint with the Union Election Commission.

According to the manager, there have been widespread allegations that wax is being put over NLD candidate’s checkboxes on ballots, which could then be later wiped off thus canceling the vote.


NLD’s candidate in Naypyidaw’s Pobbathiri township and hip hop star Phyo Zayar Thaw said 889 of the 2016 people on the voting list cast their ballots during the early voting period at the Mechanized Infantry Battalion’s Ballot Station. Candidate questions the legitimacy of the data.


Independent election monitor Hla Hla Win in Irrawaddy division’s Myaung Mya said 6,000 names missing on the voters lists in ward 1. Previously there were more than 20,200 names on the list – now there are 13,483.

The monitor also said Phyo Paing Htun, age 10, was on the voters list in ward 3.


NLD’s candidate Min Thu in Naypyidaw’s Uttrathiri township said 150 additional names on the voters list at Ballot Station-1/1 this morning. Originally there were 908 names on the list until yesterday.


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?