Friday, February 23, 2024
HomeNewsNLD discusses 2010 election participation

NLD discusses 2010 election participation

Feb 26, 2009 (DVB), National League for Democracy elected representatives and organising committee members from 10 townships in Rangoon division met at party headquarters to discuss whether to contest the 2010 election.

The meeting was held on 24 February and attended by Rangoon division organising committee secretary Dr Win Naing, chairman Thakhin Soe Myint and vice-chairman Dr Than Nyein.

"We discussed matters such as whether to contest the election or not and the party’s position if it does not contest," Dr Win Naing said.

"What we had already said clearly is we do not accept this constitution and as the 2010 election is to be held on the basis of this constitution, we haven’t considered contesting it yet," he said.

"But if we can carry out a bilateral and smooth review of the proposed constitution we would have a reason to contest the election."

The meeting was attended by township representatives and elected MPs from Kyauktada, Panbedan, Latha, Lanmadaw, Thanlyin, Kyauktan, Thonegwa, Kayan, Thaketa and Dawpon.More meetings between the ten townships are scheduled for 27 February, 3 March and 6 March, Win Naing said.

The NLD won the majority of seats and votes in the 1990 election but the ruling State Peace and Development Council failed to transfer power and is preparing to hold new elections in 2010.

The party has issued statements criticising the holding of a new election without recognising the result of the 1990 vote.

Reporting by Aye Nai


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?