Sunday, February 25, 2024
Home2015 ElectionsNLD edges towards outright majority

NLD edges towards outright majority

At just after 9pm local time, the Union Election Commission  announced the winners of 30 Lower House and 17 Upper House seats.

The National League for Democracy (NLD) won a total of 36 seats, 21 in the Lower House and 15 in the Upper House. The USDP took seven, five being in the Lower House. Other winners of Lower House seats were the Ta’ang National Party with two and the Pa’o National Organisation, the Arakan National Party and the Lisu National Development Party each with one.

The results leave the NLD two short of what has been posited as a ‘magic number’ of seats in Union Parliament. That figure is 329, which would give the NLD an outright majority, inclusive of unelected parliamentary seats.


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?