Wednesday, February 28, 2024
HomeUncategorizedThree NLD members released after anniversary arrests

Three NLD members released after anniversary arrests

Sep 29, 2008 (DVB), Three of the nine people arrested at the National League for Democracy�s 20th anniversary ceremony on Saturday have now been released, according to NLD spokesperson U Nyan Win.

Htet Htet Oo Wai, Daw Shan Ma from Shwepyitha township, six unnamed youth members and a middle-aged woman were arrested near NLD headquarters on Saturday.

Htet Htet Oo Wai and two others were released on 27 September at about 3pm.

Nyan Win said the arrests had been made by members of the Union Solidarity and Development Association and Swan Arr Shin and not by the police.

�People with no legal power carried out the arrests; that is a criminal act and lawless behaviour,� he said.

�Only the police have powers of arrest.�

An unnamed NLD member said that Aung Myo Lwin, who arrested with Htet Htet Oo Wai on Saturday, had suffered injuries after being beaten.

DVB asked Bahan township police whether USDA and Swan Arr Shin members had been given the authority to make the arrests, but they declined to comment.

Reporting by Naw Say Phaw


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?