Friday, December 1, 2023
HomeNewsCultureVIDEO: Heroes live

VIDEO: Heroes live

On 19 July 1947, Burma’s independence hero Aung San was assassinated alongside eight of Burma’s first free government.

Aung San, Prime Minister; Ba Cho, Minister of Information; Mahn Ba Khaing, Minister of Industry; Ba Win, Minister of Trade; Thakin Mya, Minister of Home Affairs; Abdul Razak, Minister of Education and National Planning; Sao San Tun, Minister of Hill Regions; Ohn Maung, Deputy Minister of Transport; and Ko Htwe, Razak’s bodyguard were all killed as they met in Rangoon’s Secretariat building.

On Sunday, Mandalay street artist Zaw Ko Naing further immortalised the nine with a graffiti mural.

The track is ‘Shin Than Ney Se Thu Ye Khaung’ (The Hero Lives) by Extra-T.


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?