Thursday, May 23, 2024
Home2015 ElectionsVoter lists announced in Rangoon

Voter lists announced in Rangoon

The Rangoon Division Election Commission on 25 May released lists of registered voters across 14 townships.

The Election Commission in Naypyidaw on Monday also announced lists of eligible voters across some of its townships.

Residents of Rangoon’s North-Dagon Myothit, South-Dagon Myothit, East-Dagon Myothit, North Okkalapa, Thingangyun, Thanlyin, Kyaukta, Thongwa, Khayan, Insein, Mingalardon, Shwepyithar, Hlaing Tharyar and Htantabin townships will be able to check voter lists for their names at ward administration offices between 25 May and 7 June.

The commission said that residents can report erroneous exclusions or inclusions on the list, for example of deceased persons or prison inmates, to election officials.


The first batch of voter names was announced by the Rangoon Division Election Commission in April, with more lists across 21 townships due to be released imminently.

The Union Election Commission (UEC) has tipped the upcoming 2015 election to take place during the last week of October or the beginning of November, with a specific date to be announced at least 90 days in advance.

The UEC last week announced that a first-past-the-post voting system would be used in the election after a deadline for parliament to vote on a change to proportional representation passed without action.



Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?