Tuesday, March 5, 2024
HomeUncategorizedArakan NLD members jailed

Arakan NLD members jailed

Oct 17, 2007 (DVB), Members of the National League for Democracy in Arakan state have been sentenced by the authorities for their involvement in last month’s protests, according to their colleagues.

Party chairman U Kyaw Khine, 85, and secretary Ko Min Aung, 40, were each sentenced to seven and a half years' imprisonment by the township court on Monday, NLD party members in Taunggok told DVB.

Party members in Sandoway township, also in Arakan state, reported that two members of the township’s NLD organising committee, U Htun Kyi and U Than Pe, had each been sentenced to four and half years by Sandoway court, Another party member from Gwa township, U Sein Kyaw, is also standing trial at this court.

According to NLD information officer U Han Tha Myint, around 280 NLD members have so far been arrested, including 50 party members in Kyaukse township in Mandalay division alone. Many more have been on the run from authorities since the government's crackdown on protestors began.

Reporting by Htet Aung Kyaw


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?