Wednesday, February 21, 2024
Home2015 ElectionsELECTION 2015: NLD landslide continues

ELECTION 2015: NLD landslide continues

In the third official announcement of the day from the Burmese capital, Aung San Suu Kyi’s National League for Democracy (NLD) was declared the winner of another 13 Lower House constituencies.

In its 9pm broadcast on Monday, the election commission also declared two Lower House seats in favour of the ruling Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), and a single seat for the Wa Democratic Party (WDP), which is based in northern Shan State.

Results came in from the following regions: Rangoon, Shan State, Pegu [Bago] Division, Irrawaddy Division, and Mandalay Division.

With the vast percentage of constituencies yet to be declared, the situation currently stands as follows:

Lower House

NLD: 25


WDP: 1

Upper House



NLD: 23 (all Rangoon)


The Lower chambers has 440 seats, the Upper 224, 25 percent of which will be handed to military appointees. The NLD must therefore win a convincing majority – 67 percent – if it to hold an overall majority in both houses.

Ninety-one political parties, along with 310 independent candidates, are contesting parliamentary seats at national, regional and state level in what is widely regarded as Burma’s most transparent ever general election.

Read more of DVB’s 2015 election coverage



Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?