Thursday, November 30, 2023
HomeElectionsFull extent of army reshuffle revealed

Full extent of army reshuffle revealed

More than 50 senior Burmese military officials have found themselves nudged up the army hierarchy to fill spots made vacant by the mass ‘retirement’ of the country’s leading ringmasters.

A memo given to DVB by Burmese army sources lists 51 prominent military personnel that have been promoted to ranks ranging from Joint Chief of Staff to Commander.

This list makes no mention of Burma’s supposedly former top brass – including Senior General Than Shwe, Vice-Chairman Maung Aye and Shwe Mann, the junta’s number three – who all made headlines last week after reportedly quitting their military posts.

Observers believe the country’s largest military shake-up in decades is a forewarning of the junta’s intention to compete in controversial elections slated for 7 November, which are being widely viewed as a sham aimed at cementing military rule in Burma.

US State Department spokesperson Phillip Crowley said on Monday that the junta was merely “civilianising” the status quo, with “dictators [now] in civilian clothing”.

Than Shwe’s rumoured retirement has since been questioned however, with the state-run New Light of Myanmar newspaper publishing a front page story on Monday citing the congratulations given by the “Senior General” to mark Malaysia’s independence day, implying that he hadn’t left his military post.

According to the memo (copied below), however, some of the other rumours are true: the Joint Chief of Staff position previously held by Shwe Mann has now been filled by Lieutenant General Min Aung Hlaing, who has been promoted from heading the Bureau of Special Operations to become the army’s third-ranking official.

A Burmese foreign ministry official speaking to DVB on condition of anonymity last week said that Shwe Mann was likely to run for president, a new title in a country that has been under military rule for nearly half a century, although this remains a rumour.

In Min Aung Hlaing’s position comes Major General Myint Soe, who had led the Burmese army’s Northwestern Regional Military Command; indeed all of the key positions in the Bureau of Special Operations’ 1 to 6  are former regional army commanders.

The post held by prominent intelligence chief Ye Myint at the helm of what is called Military Affairs Security (MAS) has been filled by Major General Kyaw Swe, who previously led the Southwestern Regional Military Command.

Ministry of Defence

No. Name Previous position New position
1 Lieutenant General Min Aung Hlaing Chief of Bureaus of Special Operations Join Chief of Staff, Defence Services (Army/Navy/Air Force)
2 Major General Myint Soe Commander, North-western Regional Military Command Chief, Bureau of Special Operations-1
3 Major General Aung Than Htut Commander, North-eastern RMC Chief, Bureau of Special Operations-2
4 Major General Hla Min Commander,

Southern RMC

Chief, Bureau of Special Operations-3
5 Major General Thet Naing Win Commander, South-eastern RMC Chief, Bureau of Special Operations-4
6 Major General Tin Ngwe Commander, Central RMC Chief, Bureau of Special Operations-5
7 Major General Soe Win Commander, Nothern RMC Chief, Bureau of Special Operations-6
8 Major General Khin Zaw Oo Commander, Costal RMC Adjutant General
9 Major General Wei Lwin Commander, Western RMC Quartermaster General
10 Major General Win Myint Commander, Rangoon RMC Military Appointments General
11 Major General Yar Pyae Comander, Eastern RMC Judge Advocate General
12 Major General Thaung Aye Commander,

Western RMC

Defence Services Inspector General
13 Major General Kyaw Swe Commander, South-western RMC Chief, Military Affairs Security
14 Major General Kyaw Phyo Commander,

Triangle RMC

Defence Forces (Army/Navy/Air Force) Inspection and Auditor General
15 Major General Sein Win (unknown) Chief of Staff, Air Defence
16 Major General Thein Htay Vice-chief of Ordinence Chief of Ordinence
17 Bragidier General San Oo Director, Defence Services Technological Academy Commander, Eastern RMC
18 Bragadier General Ye Aung Director, Army Combat Forces School (Ba Htoo Fort) Commander, Central RMC
19 Bragadier General Soe Htut Commander, Light Infantry Division-88 Commander, Southern RMC
20 Bragadier General Htun Than Commander, LID-77 Commander, Rangoon RMC
21 Bragadier General Aung Kyaw Zaw Commander, LIB-33 Commander, North-eastern RMC
22 Bragadier General Zeya Aung Director, Defense Services Academy Commander, Nothern RMC
23 Bragadier General Maung Maung Aye Commander, Military Operations Command-6 Commander, Naypyidaw RMC
24 Bragadier General Htun Nay Linn Director, Defence Services Medical Academy Commander, South-eastern RMC
25 Bragadier General Soe Thein Commander,


Commander, Western RMC
26 Bragadier General Tin Maung Win LID-22 Commander, South-western RMC
27 Bragadier General Soe Lwin Commander, MOC-3 Commander, North-western RMC
28 Bragadier General Khin Maung Htay Commander, LID-99 Commander, Costal RMC
29 Bragadier General Than Htut Oo Commander, MOC-14 Commander, Triangle RMC
30 Bragadier General Zarni Win (???) Director, Defence Services (Procurement)
31 Bragadier General Than Htun Commander, LID-11 Provost Marshal
32 Brigadier General Nay Linn Commander, MOC-12 Director, Defence Services (Information)
33 Bragadier General Tin Maung Win Commander, MOC-17 Director, Defence Services (Archive)
34 Colonel Ko Ko Naing Commander, MOC-8 Director, Defence Services Medical Academy
35 Colonel Mya Htun Oo Commander, LID-101 Director, Defence Services Academy
36 Colonel Nyo Saw Commander,


Director, Defence Services Technological Academy
37 Colonel Thit Linn Ohn Commander, LID-11
38 Colonel Htinpaw Htun Commander, LID-22
39 Colonel Aung Soe Commander, LID-33
40 Colonel Soe Naing Oo Commander, LID-77
41 Colonel Htun Htun Aung Commander, LID-88
42 Colonel Ko Ko Khine Commander, LID-99
43 Colonel Min Naing Commander, LID-101
44 Colonel Aung Ye Win Commander, MOC-1
45 Colonel Myat Kyaw Commander, MOC-3
46 Colonel Aye Win Commander, MOC-5
47 Colonel Lu Aye Commander, MOC-6
48 Colonel Ye Naing Myo Commander, MOC-8
49 Colonel Kyaw San Linn Commander, MOC-10
50 Colonel Naing Win Commander, MOC-12
51 Brigadier General Kyaw Naing Oo Commander, MOC-19

© Democratic Voice of Burma


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?