Tuesday, March 5, 2024
HomeUncategorizedKey NLD leaders released

Key NLD leaders released

Oct 31, 2007 (DVB), National League for Democracy spokesperson and people's parliament representative U Myint Thein was released yesterday, as were 17 other activists from Rangoon and Magwe division.

U Myint Thein had been held in Insein prison in Rangoon prior to his release yesterday.

Also among those released were Magwe division NLD chairman and people's parliament representative Han Zaw, NLD women's leader Leh Leh and Htaung Kho Htan, a parliament representative and member of the Committee representing the People's Parliament. Zomi National Congress leader and elected member of parliament Pu Chin Sian Thang and veteran politician Amyotharyay Win Naing were also freed.

Eleven NLD members from Magwe division, were also released from detention.

Chit Zaw Thet, Maung Soe and Nyat Gyi from Nat Mauk township, Khin Win from Yaynanchaung township and Ye Tint from Magwe township had been arrested in connection with last month's protests, along with Taungdwingyi township NLD members Bo Ni, Par Lay, Bo Sati, Kyaw Naing and Out Ko Ko.

NLD spokesperson Nyan Win has accused the Burmese government of rounding up NLD members, including those who played no part in the September protests, in order to disrupt their activities.

Magwe township NLD secretary U Myint Oo and Pakokku people’s parliament representative U Hlaing Aye remain in detention.

Reporting by Maung Too


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?