Saturday, March 2, 2024
HomeUncategorizedNLD members face two years' imprisonment

NLD members face two years' imprisonment

Oct 23, 2007 (DVB), Four National League for Democracy party members, including an elected member of the people’s parliament, have each been sentenced to two years' imprisonment by their local courts.

People’s parliament representative Myint Kyi and NLD’s communication department member Zaw Min, from Kathar township, Sagaing division, were sentenced yesterday, as were NLD members Shwe Pain and Chan Aung from Inn Daw township, also in Sagaing division.

The four were charged under section 505(b) of the penal code, for causing public alarm or disturbing state tranquility, and imprisoned for two years, according to NLD’s spokesperson Nyan Win.

"It wasn't only NLD members who protested. In fact, there were even some of us who did not join the protests but were arrested later anyway," Nyan Win said.

"I think this is the government's attempt to prevent the NLD from carrying out their activities."

Reporting by Aye Aye Mon


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?