Saturday, March 2, 2024
HomeUncategorizedTen jailed for September 2007 protests

Ten jailed for September 2007 protests

Aug 29, 2008 (DVB), Ten people, including Bogalay township National League for Democracy chairman U Aung Khin Bo, have been sentenced to 30 months' imprisonment for their involvement in public protests last September.

Aung Khin Bo was sentenced by Pyapon township court along with Bogalay NLD secretary U Maung Maung Chit, joint secretary Daw Mi Mi Sein, treasurer Daw Khin Lay, and organising committee members U Thet Tun and U Thein Tun, according to lawyer U Aung Thein.

The six were arrested after Bogalay township NLD members led by Aung Khin Bo held mass demonstrations last September against the rise in fuel and commodity prices.

They were charged with unlawful assembly and disturbing the public order under sections 143 and 505(b) of the penal code, and have been held in Pyapon prison since their detention.

Aung Thein said he would be working on an appeal against the judgment.

Four other activists, including one from Hinthada township, were also jailed for 30 months yesterday for their involvement in last September's demonstrations.

The other three, Ko Aung Moe Win, Ko Htay Win and Ko Kyi Then, were arrested after leading a demonstration in Laputta township on 3 September which was joined by more than 1000 people.

Reporting by Htet Aung Kyaw


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?