Sunday, March 3, 2024
HomeElectionsTwo USDP representatives stripped of Mandalay parliament seats

Two USDP representatives stripped of Mandalay parliament seats

A Mandalay regional minister and a former Tatmadaw officer have been found guilty of breaching the electoral law in the elections last year.

Retired military officer Ko Ko Naing, representing Yamethin Township, who won a seat in Mandalay’s lower house and Kyaw Myint elected as MP in Mandalay’s regional parliament–were both charged with using race and religion to generate public support in their election campaigns.

The charge is punishable by up to one year in prison and/or a fine of up to K100,000.

The two military-backed Union Solidarity and Development Party members have been disqualified from their seats today. Representatives from National League for Democracy; candidate Tun Tun Win will replace Ko Ko Naing for the lower house seat, and Aung Myo Oo will replace Kyaw Myint in regional parliament.

The Union Election Commission said they received 39 complaints against winning MPs in the 2015 elections. To date they have resolved 33 cases.



Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?