Tuesday, June 18, 2024
HomeUncategorizedPeriod of mourning for Burma's cyclone victims

Period of mourning for Burma's cyclone victims

May 21, 2008 (DVB), The 88 Generation Students group has called for a longer period of mourning for the victims of Cyclone Nargis than the three days announced by the junta.

The Burmese military regime designated 20 to 22 May as a period of mourning for the those who lost their lives in the cyclone, and ordered all flags to be flown at half-mast as a mark of respect.

But the 88 Generation Students group has urged people of all religions to observe five days of mourning from 20 May to 24 May and to take part in religious activities and make merit for those who died.

Ko Htun Myint Aung, one of the leaders of the group, said people should also make donations to relief efforts for the cyclone survivors.

"We would like to urge people to wear black clothing, if possible, during the five days of mourning, and to avoid participating in entertainment activities and fun things," said Htun Myint Aung.

"And we would like to request that everyone donate money and materials to the cyclone victims as well."

Htun Myint Aung also criticized the Burmese military regime for calling for a three-day mourning period, accusing them of reacting to the Chinese government's announcement of an official period of mourning for victims of the 12 May earthquake.

Reporting by DVB


Feel the passion for press freedom ignite within you.

Join us as a valued contributor to our vibrant community, where your voice harmonizes with the symphony of truth. Together, we'll amplify the power of free journalism.

Lost Password?